Book Awards

CYRM - California Young Reader Medal

Young people recommend the titles of their favorite books for nomination, or teachers and librarians note repeatedly read or requested titles, and these are submitted to the California Young Reader Medal Committee. Members of the committee read the suggested books, discuss their merits and appeal to children, and then decide upon a well-balanced list of nominees.  Once the nominees are announced, children in California are able to vote for their favorite book in each appropriate category. Visit for more information and previous winners and nominees.

2017-2018 CYRM Nominees


2016-2017 Winners


Primary Winner - Sam & Dave Dig A Hole  

Intermediate Winner - Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library  

Picture Book for Older Readers Winner - Each Kindness


2017 Caldecott Awards

The Randolph Caldecott Medal annually recognizes the preceding year's "most distinguished American picture book for children".  It is awarded to the illustrator by the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), a division of the American Library Association (ALA).

For the list of all previous Caldecott Medal Winners & Honor Books, click here.


                                                                 2017 Caldecott Medal Winner                             


                                                                      Radiant Child: The Story of

                                                                Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat

                                                                             by Javaka Steptoe




                                                          2017 Caldecott Honor Books



        Leave Me Alone!                          Freedom in Congo Square                         Du Iz Tak?

         by Vera Brosgol                        by Carole Boston Weatherford                 by Carson Ellis

                                                          and R. Gregory Christie (illust.)



                                                                   They All Saw A Cat
                                                                   by Brendan Wenzel

2017 Newbery Awards

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

For a list of all previous Newbery Medal Winners & Honor Books, click here.


                                                                 2017 Newbery Winner


                                                           The Girl Who Drank the Moon
                                                                         by Kelly Barnhill



                                                                     2017 Newbery Honor Books


 The Inquisitor's Tale, Or, The Three       Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves,                   Wolf Hollow

         Magical Children and Their              Their Lives and Dreams Brought                   by Lauren Wolk

                     Holy Dog                                 To Life by Ashley Bryan

by Adam Gidwitz & Hatem Aly (illust)                 by Ashley Bryan